Cnoc an Chonnaidh, Muineachán, H18 W897

+353 (0) 47 72344

Coláiste Oiriall will compete in four finals of the Basketball Ireland-sponsored Northeast Regional Leagues tomorrow in the Phoenix Centre in Carrickmacross. First up in the morning will be the 1st Year girls who will face Loreto Navan in the “C” Final. Both teams are unbeaten in the league to date progressing to the final from opposite pools.


Cailíní 1ú bhliana 

Coláiste Oiriall had league wins over Beech Hill College, Castleblaney College, Cnoc Mhuire Granard, St Louis Convent, Carrickmacross, Moyne Community College and Dun Lughaidh, Dundalk. They had a narrow victory over St Oliver’s Post Primary School from Oldcastle as the team did not cope well with the full court press played by the opposition.  

Micheala Ni Dhonghaile, and Micheala Ni hAnluain have had great fast break opportunities while Claire Ni Dhufaigh has converted many scores. The height of Blaithin Ni Dhulain and Karen Ni Fhionnagain Ni Mhanais has been instrumental in controlling the boards while Alsion Ni Ghiolla Bhride and Morgan Nic Cionna have been calm in the ball carrier roles.

Seo a leanas na baill foirne: Alison Ni Ghiolla Bhride, Morgan Nic Cionna, Claire Ni Dhufaigh, Karen Ni Fhionnagain Ni Mhanais, BlaithÍn Ni Dhulain, Micheala Ni hAnluain, Micheala Ni Dhonnghaile, Jill Ni Roideain, Caoimhe Ni Mhathuna, Caoimhe Nic Ursain, Jessica Ni Chorragain, Clodagh Ni Lionaird, Aoibhín Ni Fhionnagáin, Ellen Ni Shiacais agus Niamh Nic Aonasa.

Cailíní 2ú blianaThe second final of the day sees the 2nd year girls take on Loreto, Navan in the Northeast “C” Second Year girls league final. They are captained by Niamh Ni Chiarnáin and have beaten all the same opposition as the first years. This group of girls were heavily beaten in the All Ireland semi-final last year and it is an experience that has seen the girls play with great determination this season.

Top scorers Celine Ni Fhailigh and Lynda Ni Ghiolla Mhicil will hope to be injury free after playing in Tallaght earlier in the week. Seo a leanas na himreoirí: Celine Ni Fhailigh, Lynda Ni Ghiolla Mhcil, Hannah Ni Sceachain, Kate Ni Eachaidh. Emma Ni Chleircín, Niamh Ni Chiarnáin, Naoimh Ni Chonghaile, Eimear Nic CIonna, Clodagh Ni Ghiolla Cearra, Sarah Nic Cionna, Sinéad Ni Cionna, Ailíse Nic An Fhailgh agus Sorcha Nic Gafraidh.  

The first and second year boys compete in the “D” leagues. Both teams have played Coláiste na hInse, Bettystown, Scoil Uí Mhuirí, Dunleer, St Claire’s Ballyjamesduff, Largy College and O Fiaich College, Dundalk. The first years narrowly lost to St Clare’s Ballyjamesduff and will be looking to another big performance from Conor O Dughaill and Shane Mac Cionna to steady the ship and reverse the league result come Friday when they meet St Clare’s again in the regional final. Seo a leanas an painéal imreoirí: Conor O Dughaill, Kyle O Ciara, Myles Mac Canna, Seán Mac Cléire, Shane Mac Cionna, Tiarnán O Roideáin, Danny O Treasaigh, Eoghan Mac Thaidhg, Ethan O Maoláin, Zach O Mealláin, Jamie O Maolmhuire agus Oran Mac Searraigh.

The second years were winners of the league last year and have received a number of walkovers this season. This is a distinct disadvantage to the team as they lack match practice and close competitive games going into the final against Scoil Ui Mhuirí. Seo a leanas an fhoireann: Aodan O Broinn, James de Burca, Dearcan O Donnghaile, Conor O Meallain, Jorin O Conchuir, Oisín O Murchú, Marcus O Míocháín, Jordan O Cleircín, Cathal de Paor, Lee de Buitléir agus Seán O Ruanaidh.